Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

GSIS bares winners of 11th art tilt
GSIS bares winners of 11th art tilt

Date Posted: June 26, 2015

Now on its 11th year, the competition adopted the theme “Gender Equality Is Empowerment” for the representational (figurative) category. The nonrepresentational (abstract) and sculpture categories were open-themed.

GSIS received a total of 616 entries, 65 of which were chosen as finalists.

The top three winners in the figurative and abstract categories received Php300,000, Php200,000, and Php100,000. In the sculpture category, the first, second, and third place winners received Php200,000, Php150,000, and Php100,000, respectively. Five honorable mentions from each of the categories received P30,000 each.

Under the representational category, Benjamin F. Cruz of Calamba, Laguna won first prize for his work entitled “TEAMbangan”. Godofredo Orig of Jaro, Iloilo City was second for “Magkaibang Kasarian, Magkaibang Lahi sa Iisang Paniniwala” while Teodelorenz C. Racuya of Almanza, Las Piñas City placed third for his work “Kaya Ko Rin”.
For the nonrepresentational category, Patrick ka Hyan Uy Chong of Santiago City, Isabela grabbed the top prize for his entry “Enough”. Marlin C. Lopez of Solano, Nueva Vizcaya for “Outcries” and Beatrice Anne T. Belen from Malabon City for “Revolution”, placed second and third, respectively.

In the sculpture category, Jonathan R. Esguerra of Plaridel, Bulacan grabbed the first prize for his work “Riddle of Man”. Second and third were Vittorio D. Pantig from Angeles City, Pampanga for “Hamon sa Kapayapaan” and Jaime Nepomuceno of Muntinlupa City for “In Dreams We Fly”.

Honorable mention awards in the representational category were given to: Bernardo A. Maac (Cainta, Rizal) for his work “Egalitarian Queen”; Eris Samson G. Pura (Bacoor, Cavite) for “Malaya, Makulay at Bukas na Kamalayan, Gabay sa Paglinang ng Kakayahan Anuman ang Kasarian”; Valerie Suzzette C. Edralin (Baguio City) for “Portraits of Many Faces”; Bonifacio T. Jimenez (San Francisco del Monte, Bulacan) for his entry “Nagkakaisang Manggagawa”; and Ana Rhea C. Adonis (Sta. Cruz, Manila) for “Filipino Family: Working Wife and Houseband”.

In the nonrepresentational category, the honorable mention awardees were: Herbert Pajarito (Silang, Cavite) for “Brainstorm”; Leo T. Ayen (Naga City) for “Beauty in Madness”; Norlando Pobre (Bacoor, Cavite) for his work “Lovers”; Fernando F. Ramos Jr. (Tarlac City) for his work “Contemplating Existence”; and James Gabito (Baguio City) for “Hangga’t May Liwanag”.

Awarded with honorable mention in the sculpture category were Crisanta T. Ancanan (Amadeo, Cavite) for her work “Alapaw”; Ramon O. Garcia (San Francisco del Monte, Bulacan) for “Tabak ng Pagkakapantay-Pantay”; Darwin Santiago (Romblon, Romblon) for his work “Golf Man”; Juanito M. Ocampo (Santiago City, Isabela) for “Peace Offering”; and Norlando B. Pobre (Bacoor, Cavite) for his work “Save Environment”.

The judges in the art competition were visual artists Susan Fetalvero-Roces, Egai Fernandez, and Manny Garibay; artist and art critic Cid Reyes; columnist Wilson Lee Flores; Philippine Commission on Women Executive Director Emmeline Versoza; art gallery owner Norma Liongoren; GSIS President and General Manager Robert Vergara; art patron Camille Vergara; and sculptors Ramon Orlina and Rey Paz Contreras.

The winning entries now form part of the GSIS art collection. This year’s entries may now be viewed at the GSIS Museum in Pasay City.

The competition is held yearly by the GSIS in cooperation with the Art Association of the Philippines (AAP), the umbrella organization of art groups in the country.