Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

GSIS bares 2018 art tilt winners

Date Posted: June 11, 2018

State pension fund Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) announced the winners of its 14th national art competition at the awarding rites held at the GSIS Theater on June 8, 2018.

In the representational category, Ariel N. Caratao won first prize for his entry FeedARAL. Walter P. Vestil and Emmanuel John Santos placed second and third for their works Pangarap ni Pepe and Apocalipsis, respectively.

In the nonrepresentational category, Arnulfo Malapit Ragma II grabbed the top prize for his work Life is all About Moving. Second and third prizes went to Meneline L. Wong and Rodel G. Rillera for their entries Oro and No Coal in Elyu, respectively.

The top three winners in representational and nonrepresentational categories received Php300,000, Php200,000, and Php100,000.

In the sculpture category, John Paul Dalisay bagged the first prize for his art piece Pieta. Jeanroll C. Ejar (The Twist – Ang Pagbalikuko) and Gabriel D. Dans (John 3:16) garnered second and third prizes. The three winners received Php200,000, Php150,000, and Php100,000, respectively.

Five honorable mentions in each category were given Php 30,000 each.

Representational category: Edilberto B. Dionio (Pananampalataya); Jerson D. Calo (John 8:7); Siegfredo R. Galan (The Builders-2); Melquiades Cabriana (May Pag-asa Pa); and Renato V. Balute Jr. (Maskara at Korona).

Nonrepresentational category: Elbert M. Caballero (21, 9 14, 1, 13, 18, 1 and 2); Marcos Antonino Arsenio C. Royales XI (Isang Yardang Panaginip); Richard A. Magbual (Zigzag); Benjamin F. Cruz (Axis); and Eduardo C. Javier (Ashes to Ashes).

Sculpture category: Glenn Cagandahan (Rapture – 1 Thes 4:16); Wilhelmino Sebastian (Overdrive); Francisco G. Sibug (Wooden Bloom); Dennis Incognito Jimenez (Connection); and Ariosto Dale Bagtas (Euri’s World).

Judges in the art contest comprise noted artists and art critics. These are Rosario Bitanga, Fil Dela Cruz, Romulo Galicano, Romeo Reyes, and GSIS OPGM Chief of Staff Atty. Percival O. Flores for the representational category:

GSIS Vice President Lareina Chanel C. Chua, Mario de Rivera, Norberto Carating, Cid Reyes, and Raul Isidro for the abstract or nonrepresentational category, and Julie Lluch, Wilfredo Layug, and Luis Yee Jr for the sculpture category.

This year, GSIS received a total of 924 entries, 40 of which were chosen as finalists.

In his message President and General Manager Jesus Clint Aranas said that GSIS is committed to continue holding the annual art competition.
“I truly believe that art is our nation’s most precious heritage and one of the biggest expressions of our national culture. Investing in this art competition is paramount to enriching our national history and cultural identity,” PGM Aranas said.

The winning entries now form part of the GSIS art collection. This year’s entries are displayed in an art exhibit at the GSIS Museum in Pasay City, which will run until August 4, 2018.

The Art Association of the Philippines (AAP), the umbrella organization of art groups in the country, assisted GSIS in the implementation of the national competition.

GSIS Museum of Art viewing schedule is Tuesday to Saturday, 8:30 am – 4:30 pm, closed during holidays and Mondays. For inquiries, call 479-3588 or 859-0395 or email

2018 Finalists – Representational

2018 Finalists – Non-Representational

2018 Finalists – Sculpture