Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

2017 GSIS art tilt winners bared
2017 GSIS art tilt winners bared

Date Posted: June 14, 2017

Winning artists of the 13th GSIS National Art Competition receive their checks, medals, and plaques of appreciation from SVP Nora Malubay-Saludares, officer-in-charge, Office of the GSIS President and General Manager, and SVP Dionisio C. Ebdane Jr., chairman of the 80th GSIS Anniversary Steering Committee (standing; 18th and 21st from left). Assisting them was Fidel V. Sarmiento, president of the Art Association of the Philippines (standing; eighth from left). The awarding ceremonies were held at the GSIS Theater on June 2.

The Government Service Insurance System (GSIS) announced the winners of its 13th art competition at the awarding rites held at the GSIS Theater on June 2, 2017.

Simplicio Morondoz Jr. won first prize in the representational category for his entry Tune of Passion. Benjamin F. Cruz and Ronnel G. Pascua placed second and third for their works Calambanga and Moving Up, respectively.

In the nonrepresentational category, William Alvarez Jr. grabbed the top prize for his work My Smoke Painting. Second and third prizes went to Demetrio S. Padua Jr. and Marlon Magbanua for their entries Before the Mona Lisa Became Famous and Immersion, respectively.

The top three winners in representational and nonrepresentational categories received Php300,000, Php200,000, and Php100,000.

In the sculpture category, Geofrey P. Ranchez bagged the first prize for his art piece Ranget. Pedro L. Angco Jr. (Phyton Incubator Chair) and Harold B. Gomez (The Plight of Maliputo [Fishes]) garnered second and third prizes. The three winners received Php200,000, Php150,000, and Php100,000, respectively.

Five honorable mentions in each category were given Php 30,000 each.

Representational category: Eduardo C. Javier (Bakit Ako? Bakit Hindi!); Jonathan L. Joven (So Near Yet So Far); Darby Vincent A. Alcoseba (Memoir); Warren V. Balane (Migratory Entities: Destination-Greener Pastures); and Edu P. Perreras (Today’s Moments are Tomorrow’s Memories).

Nonrepresentational category: Elbert M. Caballero (Bee’s Eye View); Bayani Jamesson I. Galera (Mood Swings); Melander P. Blanza (Extreme); Rick L. Hernandez (Flow); and Lupo Adolfo A. Lasin (Rebirth of a Past).

Sculpture category: Jerry O. Buccat (Restoration); Fernando F. Ramos Jr. (#Hotseat No. 3); Joseph D. Espino (Tall Head); John Russel C. Pangilinan (Balat Kayo); and Roman Angelo R. Cruz (Pagtutuwid ng Baluktot na Kasanayan).

Judges in the art contest were artists and art critics – Representational category: Betsy Westendorp, Antipas Delotavo Jr., Imelda Cajipe-Endaya, Edgar Fernandez, and art enthusiast GSIS SVP Dionisio C. Ebdane Jr.; Nonrepresentational category: Raul Lebajo, Mario de Rivera, June Mercy Dalisay, Luis Yee Jr., and Benjamin Cabangis; and Sculpture: Juan Sajid-Imao, Frederic Caedo, and Gemma Cruz-Araneta, who is a former director of the National Museum.

The 2017 GSIS Art Competition, which drew the biggest turnout since its launch in 2004, had an open theme this year to encourage participation by more Filipino artists. Of the total 1,084 entries, 63 were chosen as finalists.

The winning entries now form part of the GSIS art collection. This year’s entries are displayed in an art exhibit at the GSIS Museum in Pasay City, which will run until August 1.

The annual competition is a joint undertaking of the GSIS and the Art Association of the Philippines (AAP), the umbrella organization of art groups in the country.