Date Posted: 2012-07-05 09:07:08

As part of its 75th anniversary celebration, the Government Service Insurance System (GSIS)  announced the winners in the 2012 Art Competition last June 22 at the GSIS Theater in Pasay City. The contest was organized in partnership with the Art Association of the Philippines.

Out of more than 500 entries, 19 winners were proclaimed in three categories – representational (figurative), non-representational (abstract) and sculpture.

In the representational category, which adopts the pension fund’s new corporate slogan for its theme “Maaasahan ng Lingkod-Bayan,” the winners were Jesus D. Santos of Las Pinas for the  painting   Kanlungan (first prize); Arden T. Mopera of Quezon City    for  Umulan Man o Umaraw (second prize);  and Emmanuel V. Robles of Bulacan   Himlayan ng Makatotohanang Imahinasyon, Pangarap at Panaginip  (third prize).

Five honorable mentions were also awarded in this category, namely: Johann M. Padiernos of Valenzuela City for Pag-alaala Sa Isang Pilas Na Pahina;  John Perry Pellejera of Taytay, Rizal for Ang May Patutunguhan; Melchor D. Bernaldo  of Bulacan for Salamat Sa Serbisyong Tapat;  Noel Pama  of Quezon City  for  Sa Mga Pangarap; and, Hermel B. Alejandre of Camarines Sur  for Dasal Kay Inang Maria.

In the non-representational (abstract) category, adjudged winners were  Jose Jeline Laporga of Guimaras (first prize) for A Flat Form of Reason;  Rick L. Hernandez of Makati City for   Irasan #9 (second prize) ; and Fernando F. Ramos Jr. from Tarlac City for Contemplating (Into) Infinity (third prize).

The honorable mention awardees in  the Non-Representational Category included: Elbert M. Caballero   of Taguig City for  In Plus Out Equals Life; Xander Calceta  of Mandaluyong City  for Scape Work ; Vanessa F. Pagaduan of Tarlac  for  The Leering Man ; Gary R. Custodio  of Aklan for  In Progress; and Herwin Buccat of Pangasinan  for  Eye Opener.

In the  Sculpture Category, the winners were Natalio G. Alob Jr.  of Bacolod City for   The Painful Tie That Binds (first prize).  Neil Russell S. Balajadia of Pasig City   for   Puno Ng Buhay (second); and  Rinald T. Sotto of  Montalban, Rizal (third).

The first, second and third prize winners in  the Representational and Non-Representational Categories received Php300,000.00,  Php200,000.00, and Php100,000.00, respectively.  They were also given  trophies and certificates. The honorable mention awardees received P20,000.00 each with medals and certificates.   

Meanwhile, the winners in the sculpture category received cash prizes amounting to Php200,000, Php150,000 and Php100,000 for first, second and third places.

The judges  in the  competition include  Visual Artists Imelda Cajipe-Endaya,  Mario Parial, Al Perez, Artist-Art Critic Cid Reyes, Columnist Deedee Sytangco, National Museum Director Jeremy Barns, NCCA Executive Director Emelita Almosara, UP Fine Arts Dean Prof. Tina Colayco, GSIS Trustee Danilo Gozo, GSIS President and GM Robert Vergara, Sculptors Ramon Orlina and Joe Datuin,  Art Patron Liza Periquet, Tina Coscolluela and Ms. Diame Siscar.

Entries can be viewed at the GSIS Museum Hallway until July 14 from Monday to Friday 9am to 4pm. Interested parties may call 859-0395 or email (end)